California car insurance laws require all drivers carry liability insurance for any car accident injuries or damages they are at-fault for. The law requires driver carry a minimum $15,000 in coverage per person injured, $30,000 total for multiple personal injuries, and $5,000 for property damage.
Drivers in California have the option to fulfill their financial responsibilities by purchasing car insurance, leaving a cash bond of $35,000 with the California Department of Motor Vehicles, or obtaining a surety bond from a licensed business in California. Having car insurance is important, and all drivers should carry car insurance to protect themselves and others in case of an accident.
Penalties for driving without liability insurance in California range from $200 maximum for a first offense to $500 maximum for subsequent offenses, depending on the circumstances. Drivers may also face having their license suspended for repeat offenses of driving without auto insurance.
Types of car insurance in California
Liability insurance is just one form of protection California drivers may sign up for in case of a catastrophic injury to themselves or others. Drivers may also carry collision coverage for damages to vehicles, medical and funeral costs coverage for serious bodily harm, uninsured driver insurance in case the at-fault driver is uninsured, and rental car insurance.
Insurance companies have a responsibility to pay claims for injuries covered by liability, collision, and other car insurance policies. Serious accidents are an all too common occurrence and insurance coverage should protect injury victims and their families from incurring undue hardships and financial struggles.
California at-fault insurance laws
California’s at-fault injury laws allow anyone injured in an automobile accident to seek compensation from insurance companies (both the victim’s and the offender’s) and the at-fault party. Injury victims may use legal actions to seek damages for medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost wages.
How do I get the most for my car accident in California?
Receiving the maximum amount of compensation an injury victim is entitled can be easier said than done. While the law ensures legal remedies to car insurance injury victims and requires all drivers to carry car insurance to cover liabilities, many car accident victims in LA struggle to get the justice they deserve.
Some car accident victims may try to handle claims themselves, thinking retaining legal qualified counsel is not necessary. While it is true the law allows private citizens to file claims with insurance companies and bring lawsuits against at-fault drivers, having an experienced auto accident lawyer to handle your claim should be seriously considered.
Auto accident attorneys in Los Angeles, California can help you prosecute your car accident lawsuit to the fullest extent possible. Often times, insurance companies will refrain from dispersing the necessary compensation to help injury victims properly heal and at-fault drivers will hire their own lawyers to keep from owning up to their responsibilities.
If you or a family member was hurt in an auto accident, contact a seasoned and dedicated LA auto accident attorney for a legal consultation about your case. There are time deadlines when filing auto accident claims in California so preserve your legal rights and speak to a qualified attorney as soon as possible.